Tue. Jul 14th, 2020

NATAS Announces The Nominees For 37TH Annual Sports Emmy® Awards, Highlight Hollywood News

The National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (NATAS) today announced the nominees for the 37th Annual Sports Emmy Awards.  Highlight Hollywood has confirmed that CBS’s Verne Lundquist is set to receive Lifetime Achievement Award.  Nominees to be Honored During the May 10th Ceremony at Jazz at Lincoln Center’s Frederick P Rose Hall can be seen here.

67th Emmy Awards Press Preview Day
“The evolution of sports television and the technologies that enhance the viewers ability to experience each game continue to amaze us,”said Bob Mauro, President, NATAS. “The world of sports television grows larger with each passing year and who better encompasses that diverse sphere than this years lifetime achievement honoree, Verne Lundquist, who over his more than 40years of broadcast experience has covered the Olympics, golf, football, basketball, swimming, diving, boxing, soccer, horse racing and just about every other sport known to man!  This years nominees continue to raise the bar and our gala promises to be an exciting evening for our 200 nominees and the world of sports television.”

“What a year in sports: a Triple Crown winner (at last), a dramatic World Series, the changing of the guard at the Masters and a hard-fought upset in the Super Bowl, just to name a few highlights,” said Steve Ulrich, Senior Vice President of the Sports Emmy Awards. “These great milestones, along with some evocative work from the sports documentary community are the hallmarks of this year’s entries.”

List of nominees available at http://emmyonline.org/sports_37th_nominations
Written By: Tommy Lightfoot Garrett
Photographs are Courtesy:   NATAS
Follow us on Twitter @HighlightHwd or @LightfootinHwd