Tue. Jan 28th, 2020

Costume Designers Guild Awards: ‘Mary Poppins Returns,’ ‘Marvelous Mrs. Maisel’ Among Nominees

Nominations for the 21st annual Costume Designers Guild Awards (CDGA) have been announced.


Among the nominees are Ruth E. Carter, who designed the Afrofuturistic costumes for the fictional world of Wakanda in Ryan Coogler’s blockbuster film Black Panther; the Oscar- and Emmy-nominated costume designer will additionally be honored with a career achievement award  at next month’s event.


Costume designer Sandy Powell is a double nominee for The Favourite, set in the 18th-century court of Queen Anne, and the vibrant live-action musical Mary Poppin Returns. Powell created 448 original costumes for the latter film, set in 1930s-era London, including hand-painted trompe l’oeil looks for the partially animated scenes.


The awards ceremony is set to take place Tuesday, Feb. 19, at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Beverly Hills.



The evening’s host and additional honorees, including the Distinguished Service and Spotlight awards, will be announced in the coming weeks, the guild said. Meanwhile, here are the nominees for the 2019 CDGAs:

Excellence in Contemporary Film A Star Is Born, Erin Benach Crazy Rich Asians, Mary E. Vogt Mamma Mia! Here We Go Again, Michele Clapton Ocean’s 8, Sarah Edwards Widows, Jenny Eagan

Excellence in Period Film BlacKkKlansman, Marci Rodgers Bohemian Rhapsody, Julian Day The Favourite, Sandy Powell Mary Poppins Returns, Sandy Powell Mary Queen of Scots, Alexandra Byrne

Excellence in Sci-Fi/Fantasy Film A Wrinkle in Time, Paco Delgado Aquaman, Kym Barrett The Avengers: Infinity War, Judianna Makovsky Black Panther, Ruth E. Carter The Nutcracker and the Four Realms, Jenny Beavan

Excellence in Contemporary Television The Assassination of Gianni Versace: American Crime Story, Lou Eyrich & Allison Leach Grace and Frankie, Allyson B. Fanger The Romanoffs, Janie Bryant & Wendy Chuck Sharp Objects, Alix Friedberg This Is Us, Hala Bahmet

Excellence in Period Television The Alienist, Michael Kaplan Glow, Beth Morgan The Man in the High Castle, Catherine Adair The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel, Donna Zakowska Outlander, Nina Ayres & Terry DresbachMaisel s2

Excellence in Sci-Fi / Fantasy Television American Horror Story: Apocalypse, Paula Bradley & Lou Eyrich The Handmaid’s Tale, Ane Crabtree Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Events, Cynthia Summers Star Trek: Discovery, Gersha Phillips Westworld, Sharen Davis

Excellence in Variety, Reality-Competition, Live Television Jesus Christ Superstar Live in Concert, Paul Tazewell The Late Late Show with James Corden, Lauren Shapiro RuPaul’s Drag Race, Zaldy Goco Saturday Night Live, Tom Broecker & Eric Justian So You Think You Can Dance, Marina Toybina

Excellence in Short Form Design Adidas: “See My Creativity”, commercial, Bonnie Stauch Childish Gambino: “This is America”, music video, Natasha Newman-Thomas Elton John – Farewell Yellow Brick Road: The Legacy, short film, Charlie Altuna Justin Timberlake: “Supplies” Directed by Dave Myers, music video, Ami Goodhart Nespresso: “The Quest”, commercial, Jenny Eagan


You can follow us on social media at www.twitter.com/HighlightHwd or on Facebook at: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Highlight-Hollywood/193119760769011, and now on Google+ at: https://plus.google.com/+TommyLightfootGarrett90211/aboutASIB_FYC_THR_BTS_RB_970x250

Written By: Tommy Lightfoot Garrett

Photographs are Courtesy:   Walt Disney; Amazon; Warner Bros.

Follow us on Twitter @HighlightHwd or @LightfootinHwd