Tue. Jul 14th, 2020

12 GOP Senators Vote With Dems To Overwhelmingly Block Trump’s Emergency Order, He Vows To Veto

Twelve Republican senators broke ranks and voted with Democrats Thursday to block President Trump’s border wall-obsessed national emergency declaration, marking a major embarrassment for Trump and paving way for the first veto of his presidency.


In a 59-41 vote, the Senate passed a resolution rescinding the emergency order Trump issued on Feb. 15 in a constitutionally questionable attempt to unlock taxpayer funding for the behemoth border barrier he used to promise Mexico would bankroll.

The resolution — which bars Trump from stripping about $8 billion from Pentagon and Treasury reserve budgets and use it for a wall — was approved by the House last week and now heads to Trump’s desk.


The President made his intentions clear in a one-word tweet following the humiliating Senate defeat.


All Democrats voted to overturn Trump’s emergency.


Among the 12 Republicans who rebuffed Trump was Ohio Sen. Rob Portman, who argued the President’s declaration sets a dangerous precedent.


“Future presidents could actually use this authority, the emergency authority, to tear down the very wall we are now constructing,” Portman said from the floor. “And some Democrats running for President have said that’s what they intend to do.”



Written By: Tommy Lightfoot Garrett
Photographs are Courtesy: AP
Follow us on Twitter @HighlightHwd or @LightfootinHwd