Wed. Aug 12th, 2020

Writers Guild Awards 2020 Nominees Include: ‘Knives Out,’ ‘Parasite,’ ‘1917’

Sam Mendes’ World War I film 1917 finds itself on the Writers Guild Awards’ list of nominees for best original screenplay. Mendes wrote the film with Krysty Wilson-Cairns.

The WGA on Monday revealed its nominees in the best original, adapted and documentary screenplay categories.

The other original screenplay nominees are Noah Baumbach’s Marriage Story; Rian Johnson’s Knives Out; Parasite, screenplay by director Bong Joon Ho and Han Jin Won from a story by Bong Joon Ho; and Olivia Wilde’s Booksmart, written by Emily Halpern, Sarah Haskins, Susanna Fogel and Katie Silberman.

Notable omissions include Quentin Tarantino for his nostalgic tale Once Upon a Time in Hollywood, for which he won the screenplay Golden Globe on Sunday. Tarantino’s films are not eligible for WGA as he’s not a member of the guild. Anthony McCarten, the screenwriter of Netflix’s The Two Popes, was also missing, while writer-director Lulu Wang’s script for The Farewell was ineligible — like Once Upon a Time in Hollywood, it was not produced under jurisdiction of WGA or an affiliate guild. 

The eligibility rules for the WGA Awards require films to have been written under the guild’s Minimum Basic Agreement or under a collective bargaining agreement across international chapters — this means that the awards often exclude writers that are not members of the guild or films that are not made under guild jurisdiction. In the past decade, five of the WGA’s original screenplay award winners have gone on to win the Oscar, while six WGA adapted screenplay winners won the corresponding Oscar (2016’s Moonlight won the WGA’s original screenplay award but was submitted — and won — the Oscars’ adapted screenplay prize that year). 

Adapted screenplay nominees are the Mister Rogers film A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood, written by MicahFitzerman-Blue and Noah Harpster, inspired by Tom Junod’s article “Can You Say…Hero?”; The Irishman, written by Steve Zaillian, based on the book I Heard You Paint Houses by Charles Brandt; Jojo Rabbit, written by director Taika Waititi and based on the book Caging Skies by Christine Leunens; Joker, written by director Todd Phillips and Scott Silver and based on characters from DC Comics; and Little Women, written by director Greta Gerwig and based on Louisa May Alcott’s classic novel.

Three-time WGA Award winner Alex Gibney landed two nominations in the documentary screenplay category, for both Citizen K and The Inventor: Out for Blood in Silicon Valley. Other doc nominees are Mark Jonathan Harris’ Foster, Lauren Greenfield’s The Kingmaker and Robert Seidman and Oren Rudavsky’s Joseph Pulitzer: Voice of the People.

The 72nd annual WGA Awards are set for Saturday, Feb. 1, at dual ceremonies to be held in Los Angeles and New York.

You can follow us on social media at or on Facebook at:,and now on Google+ at:

Written By: Tommy Lightfoot Garrett

Photographs are Courtesy:  Universal; Lionsgate

Follow us on Twitter @HighlightHwd or @LightfootinHwd